Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2022 Black History Month – Amplifying Women’s Voices

27 October @ 7:00 am - 9:00 pm

Free

   A talk about the impact of publishing Black women writers and invitation to read extracts from your fave books

Join us for a talk on amplifying Black women writers.

  • Author talk in new indie bookshop Books on the Rise
  • Discounted books to buy
  • Refreshments available

The event will kick off with Saskia Calliste, Kadija George, and Deirdre Osborne discussing their books Hairvolution , Six Plays by Black and Asian Women Writers, and This is the Canon with editor Cheryl Robson, giving insight into their reasons for editing these books and what they hoped to achieve from publishing them. They’ll go on to read a couple of extracts.

You’ll then have a chance to jump in to share an extract from one of your favourite Black women writers – so make sure you bring your books along!

The event will also offer an introduction to the bookshop’s portfolio of great books by black writers. This event will take place in new bookshop Books On The Rise in Richmond or alternatively you can view the recording of the event in your own time.

Closing with a Q&A and an opportunity to explore the shop.

More about the panel:

Saskia Calliste – https://www.aurorametro.com/team/saskia-calliste/

Kadija George – https://www.aurorametro.com/team/kadija-george/

Deirdre Osborne – https://rsliterature.org/fellow/deirdre-osborne/

Cheryl Robson – https://www.cherylrobson.net/

More about the books:

Hairvolution https://www.aurorametro.com/product/hairvolution-book/

Six Plays by Black and Asian Women Writers – https://www.aurorametro.com/product/six-plays-by-black-and-asian-women-writers/

This Is The Canon: Decolonize Your Bookshelves in 50 Bookshttps://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/57094690

Explore more from Aurora Metro here https://www.aurorametro.com/

Venue

Books on the Rise
80 Hill Rise
Richmond, TW10 6UB United Kingdom
+ Google Map